Shakshuka

Shakshuka

Today I tried my hand at making Shakshuka. I love one dish recipes because not only is clean up a breeze, but cooking in one pan tends to simplify everything. I found quite a few recipes for this Middle Eastern dish on you tube and I just altered them to my tastes (mostly by taking out anything too spicy) and by adding what veggies I had laying around. I’m working on building up my tolerance to spicy food because I can definitely see the health benefits; however, this was not the dish to test that out.

This was the first recipe I’ve done that involved using the stove top and then putting the pan inside the oven to bake a bit more. I was pretty happy with the results as it was definitely a more interesting way to eat eggs, while also sneaking in some veggies (tomatoes, peppers, onions). Plus, it just looks pretty cool in the pan.

My Ingredients:

  • coconut oil (you can use olive oil)
  • 1 onion
  • 1 red pepper
  • tomatoes (I used a 14 oz can of diced)
  • 3 cloves of garlic (you can used minced)
  • 1 t paprika
  • 1 t cumin
  • 1 t coriander
  • ½ t black pepper
  • salt to taste
  • eggs

Basically you heat up your oil on the saucepan and preheat the oven to 180 degrees C/ 375 degrees F. Throw the minced peppers and onions into the saucepan. Wait 5 minutes or so for the veggies to become soft and then add your minced garlic. Wait a minute or two. Along with the tomatoes add the spices and stir well. Wait another 5 minutes before adding your eggs on top. Then when the eggs start to turn a bit white and are a bit more solidified put the saucepan into the oven for 8-10 minutes or until your desired egg consistency. We just ate this plain but if you had more time it would definitely taste delicious on some potatoes or hash browns. You could also add some fresh parsley or cilantro with a dollop of sour cream if you’re feeling fancy. Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

