Homemade Tomato Sauce

DSC00870

When I was a kid I was so infatuated with Ketchup that people would get it for me for my birthday. I realize how weird this sounds, but I was a big fan of the stuff. I still like it but I’ve also come to realize that tomatoes are pretty spectacular tasting on their own without all the vinegar, sugar, and preservatives. So when I found this recipe for homemade tomato sauce by Dani Spies on you tube I had to give it a go. I tweaked the recipe a bit by taking out a spice and adding my own. I also added a bit of stevia at the end to balance out the acid.

Ingredients:

  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 onion
  • 1 t paprika
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 or 2, 28oz cans crushed tomatoes (I used 1 ½)
  • 2 T oregano
  • 2 T parsley (if you’ve got fresh just add it at the end)
  • 1 t stevia
  • S & P to taste

In a large pot heat the olive oil and add the diced onion. Wait about 5 minutes for the onion to become soft and translucent, then add paprika and minced garlic. When the garlic starts to become transparent add the crushed tomatoes, oregano, and parsley. Heat the pot to a boil and then turn it down and allow it to simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add stevia and salt and pepper to taste. This tomato sauce can be stored in the fridge for about a week or in the freezer for 6 months.

Here’s the original recipe:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MCC_idJDzwA

Leave a comment