Most Badass book cover…

carriebrownstein

 

This is in response to the Daily Post Earworm:

Write whatever you normally write about, and weave in a book quote, film quote, or song lyric that’s been sticking with you this week.

We woke up with the sun, escaped the sauna that had become our tent and spent the days exploring, surfing, hiking, writing, and reading. With no buildings to block it, we had full exposure to the sun from 6am-9pm, which obviously made the days quite long. We integrated with the wildlife in a way you can only do when backpacking. The wombat, eels, wallaby, echidna, blue-tongued lizards, and dolphins became our neighbors. Even the creepy insect the size of my hand had its place, even if it felt way too close.

All in all, it was a great way to spend Christmas away from the materialism, stress and expectations. One of the books I started reading on this trip is by Carrie Brownstein, the band member of Sleater-Kinney. I’m a huge fan of the band and my partner ordered this book from America for my Christmas present. Sleater-Kinney’s music and lyrics feel like they represent me and some of my lived experiences that rarely (if ever) receive a voice in the mainstream. One of my favorite songs of theirs, “Modern Girl” is the inspiration for the title of the book, “Hunger Makes Me a Modern Girl”. Compared to their other songs, “Modern Girl” is very stripped down and simplified; that’s part of its appeal. The repeated, symbolically changing lyrics are packed with emotions that remain the focus only because the music is so contained.

My trip was a lot like this. Technology, commitments, and clutter were removed temporarily from my life allowing space for freedom and introspection. Things happened because I wanted them to. This level of prioritization is not something I can usually attain sitting comfortably within 4 walls. It was because of this minimization of needs and re calibrating of priorities that I was able to rediscover the hunger that makes me a modern girl.

Leave a Reply

