Missing a furball

This is in response to the Daily Prompt: My Favorite

What’s the most time you’ve ever spent apart from your favorite person? Tell us about it.

People are overrated. I left my best friend behind when I decided to leave everything I’d ever known and drive over 2000 miles across the country to my new life at age 20. She had tan fur, weighed about 20lbs wet, and couldn’t hold a conversation on the phone if her life depended on it. It was a tough decision to leave Molly behind. She was my mom’s dog too and it was comforting knowing that I wasn’t leaving my single mother alone. 

I surrounded myself with other people’s dogs. People that knew me were shown numerous pictures of my ‘chicken with fur’ back home. Phone conversations to my mom always turned to Molly and how she was coping. Not being able to communicate verbally with your best friend is quite unfair.

Trips home were few and far between due to the cost but the wait was certainly worth it. My fears that my pal had forgotten me were always squashed as soon as she saw me at the door, or hiding behind a bush. No grudges were held, no time was wasted. That’s how you live life.

Leave a Reply

